Wednesday 8 February 2017

Episode 43

Mixcloud stream      Gonzo stream      download

1. Owen Hewson — "Facelift" theme

2. Hatfield and the North — "Share It" (from The Rotters' Club, 1975)

3. Horace Silver — "Self Portrait no. 1" (from Silver N' Strings Play The Music Of The Spheres, 1980)

4. King Crimson — "Starless" (from Radical Action (to Unseat the Hold of Monkey Mind), 2016)

5. Mahavishnu Orchestra — "Trilogy: The Sunlit Path / La Mere De La Mer / Tomorrow's Story Not The Same" (recorded 1973, from The Lost Trident Sessions, 1999)

6. Hugh Hopper and Kramer — "A Streetcar Named Desire" (from A Remark Hugh Made, 1994)

7. Yama Warashi — "Unfreezing Time" (from Moon Egg, 2016)

8. Kevin Ayers — "Lunatics Lament" (from Shooting At The Moon, 1970)

9. Bobby Hutcherson — "Yuyo" (from Montara, 1975)

10. Bobby Hutcherson — "Patterns" (from Patterns, 1980)

11. Bobby Hutcherson — "Tranquility" (from Components, 1965)

12. The Kronos Quartet — "Mythic Birds Waltz" (from Cadenza On The Night Plain And Other String Quartets, 1985)

13. John Coltrane/Terry Riley mashup excerpt (mixed by Warren Defever, 2016)

14. Aidan Shepherd and Owen Hewson — improvisation (recorded near Canterbury, summer 2015)

15. Kaitlyn Aurelia Smith and Suzanne Ciani — "A New Day" (from FRKWYS 13: Sunergy, 2016)

16. Steve Hillage Band — "Salmon Song" (from Live at the Gong Unconvention 2006, released 2009, recorded at The Melkweg, Amsterdam, November 2006)

17. Syd Arthur — "Plane Crash in Kansas" (from Apricity, 2016)

18. Fairport Convention — "A Sailor's Life" [alternate take] (from Fairport Unconventional, 2002, recorded 1969)

19. Soft Machine — "Surrounding Silence" (from Alive And Well Recorded In Paris, 1978)

20. Gong — "Isle of Everywhere" (live in Rotterdam, 1974-12-07, from You Do Have To Give Up Dope!? GAS cassette tape, 1992)

21. National Health — "Binoculars" (from Of Queues And Cures, 1978)

22. Matching Mole — "Marchides" (recorded at L'Olympia, Paris, 1972-02-15)

23. Robert Wyatt — hidden track (from Theatre Royal Drury Lane, recorded 1974-09-08, released 2005)

24. Caravan — "In The Land Of Grey And Pink" (from Green Bottles For Marjorie, recorded live for BBC Radio 1968-12-31, released 2002)

errata/clarifications: The Horace Silver album was from 1980, not 1978 as I said. Mel Collins' involvement with King Crimson goes back to their second album In The Wake Of Poseidon, not Lizard (their third) as I said. Kramer got Brainville together in 1998, a few years after that collaborative album with Hugh Hopper. The rhythm section for the Steve Hillage band in 2006 was Chris Taylor (drums) and Mike Howlett (bass), whereas in 2009 it was Chris Taylor and Dave Sturt (in both cases, the same rhythm section Gong was using). Ric Sanders replaced Dave Swarbrick in Fairport Convention in 1984.


Post a Comment

Subscribe to Post Comments [Atom]

<< Home

RSS feed